Code of Ethics: My 3 Ideals

When reading the code of ethics in the NAEYC and DEC articles, there were more than three ideals that stood out to me. However I managed to narrow down and chosen three ideals that are meaningful and significant to me in three different areas; children, families and fellow colleagues.

NAEYC: Section I: Ethical Responsibilities to Children

Ideal 1.11 To be familiar with the knowledge base of early childhood care and education and to stay informed through continuing education and training.

This ideal is significant to me in two ways:

  1. “To be familiar with the knowledge base of early childhood care and education”

In the past I have often observed other educators conduct themselves in an unkind and “know it all” manner towards children and parents and I am often surprised that these educators chose this profession because if they clearly understood and took to heart what early childhood education is they would conduct themselves in a kind manner, not controlling and not having a superior attitude, showing respect towards their children, parents and displaying ethics in every area of their professional walk, as an educator should want the best for every child and family represented in their classroom.

2. “Stay informed through continuing education and training”

I am a firm believer of being a life long learner as an educator, where I am current in my knowledge and teaching practices to better myself as a professional and to give the children in my classroom the best possible learning experience they can receive.

DEC: III. Responsive family centered practices

Ideal 2: We shall provide services and supports to children and families in a fair and equitable manner while respecting families’ culture, race, language, socioeconomic status, marital status and sexual orientation.

This ideal is significant to me as we are all equal and no one is to be treated less than the other for any reason whatsoever. Family involvement is so important in the life of a child’s education regardless of race, poor, rich, gay, lesbian and it is a child’s right to receive a good education, this right is fundamental and universal. We as teachers and schools need to realise this more, provide support and services to these families and if I was in a position to be head of a school, I would say to parents “We recognise your worth and let us help you be an advocate for your child in order for you to receive the best education for your child.” This support and services is not only for those parents who are nationals of a country, but for those parents you are immigrants too.

NAEYC: Section III: Ethical responsibilities to Colleagues

Ideal 3A.2 To share resources with co-workers, collaborating to ensure that the best possible early childhood care and education program is provided.

This ideal is significant and meaningful to me, as I have often come across educators who are not willing to collaborate and share resources as I have often witnessed and experienced a quiet competition amongst teachers to be the best, instead of trying to help one another by giving advice, sharing ideas and resources for the betterment of yourself as an educator, the children, parents and school as a whole. I would hope all educators can strive to become better in this area.

This image below captures my idea of ethics in my personal and professional life.

Ethics.jpeg

 

 

2 thoughts on “Code of Ethics: My 3 Ideals

  1. Those are very important codes of ethics. We need to be diligent on knowing families culture and having an open communication with our staff for the resources as well as the families.

    Like

  2. Justine, I am also a believer in the process of lifelong learning; it applies to the field of early childhood and every aspect of my life.
    I have learned a lot by listening to others and seeking to understand them, brainstorming with colleagues, and by researching subjects to gain further understanding.
    For me, continuing my education, deepening my knowledge base and growing in wisdom is essential for an enjoyable life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

