Getting to know my International Contacts- Part 3

This week, Jenny from Australia shared a lot with me with regards to current issues, her hopes, dreams and so forth and I was very encouraged! Here is what she shared:
  • What issues regarding quality and early childhood professionals are being discussed where you live and work?

Jenny had said that the main issues right now amongst Early Childhood Professionals in Australia are around equal pay as preschool teachers currently get paid about 20% less than teachers in older age group schools. Another issue she had mentioned is the introduction of assessment and ratings which began 5 year’s ago and therefore is still in its teething process, however Jenny had mentioned that the government has finally realised the acknowledgement and recognition of early childhood education.

  • What opportunities and/or requirements for professional development exist?

Jenny had mentioned that she is required to have 500 hours of professional development in a space of 2 years and unfortunately, where she lives, which is a rural area teachers don’t get the same opportunities as the teachers in city areas but they can now access training via video links and external studies.

  • What are some of your professional goals?
 Jenny said that her professional goals are to keep on top of new theories and educational practices and to provide the best early childhood education to her children she teaches.
  • What are some of your professional hopes, dreams, and challenges?

Jenny mentioned that she is 52 years of age and so her career will come to an end soon. Therefore she she hopes that she is remembered for a job well done and for making a difference.

She had also mentioned that there are many challenges she has come across working in a rural area and the one challenge is not always having the resources that the city counterparts had/have.

1

Unfortunately my other international contact, Jen from New Zealand has a family crisis, so she was not able to reply to me in time, however I will update my post when she does get back to me.
6 thoughts on “Getting to know my International Contacts- Part 3

  1. Justine,

    Equal pay and continuing professional development can go a long way in bringing more quality educated teachers into the early childhood field. Your colleague has the right mindset of keeping on top of new theories and educational practices.

    Like

  2. Hi Justine,
    Wow that’s a lot of hours that one of your contacts has to have in professional development but at least she is getting access to do some on video. Also, I’m glad t see we are not the only underpaid early childhood educators in the world. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Hello Justine, it isn’t surprising that unequal pay is an issue in Australia, as we see the same issue across the United States. My younger sister teaches middle school science and she started our making much more than I did. I find this to be unfair, especially considering the importance of the early years. I know that low pay has motivated me to move towards a different career, and I have thought about leaving the field all together. Hopefully the coming years will see the pay increase for early childhood teachers. If not, I fear we will never have enough high-quality early childhood teachers to work with young children across the country.

    Like

    • Hi Justine, I enjoyed reading your blog post and yes the more connections we make with our mentors and colleagues the more interesting our journey through higher education will become. I noticed you have written very detailed discussion boards and blog post. You will truly reach your goal as an educator or advocate for children.

      Like

  4. Hi Justine, I enjoyed reading your blog post and yes the more connections we make with our mentors and colleagues the more interesting our journey through higher education will become. I noticed you have written very detailed discussion boards and blog post. You will truly reach your goal as an educator or advocate for children.

    Like

  5. Justine,
    I love that you were able to get in touch with one of your international contacts last week. I found it interesting to be able to find contacts outside of the United States in order to learn more through them. I cannot imagine having 200 hours of professional development courses, but then again, through the Master’s program and professional developments each month at my school, I am sure I reach around the same amount. Equal pay is also an issue here in the United States. Where I am teaching now, I am one of the highest paid in the state, yet if I moved two hours in an opposite direction, I would take a $9,000 pay cut! Thanks for your awesome post.

    Logan

    Like

Leave a Reply

