My Family Culture

If I were given the option of taking only three items to represent my family culture, it would be a photograph of my family. I would take a canvas with words that represent what my family is all about “In this house we do happiness, we do smiles, we do authentic, we do fun, we do dreams, we do heart to heart, we do forgiveness, we do thank you’s, we do honesty, we do healthy, we do grace.” and the third item I would take with me is a quilt my mother and father made for me.

The items mean the world to me and go with me wherever I work and travel too. The family photo shows just the three of us, as I am an only child, it is my graduation photo for my teachers degree, I am the first in my family and wider family with a degree.  The  words quoted in the canvas represent my family and culture which is happiness, smile, authentic, fun, fulfilling dreams, close, forgiving, manners, healthy and grace. The quilt represents both love, sweat and tears as my mother continues to recover from cancer and my father and her went above and beyond to make the quilt from scratch which is more than I could ever ask for.

I think I would be devastated to part with any of these items I take with me wherever I go, it will be terrible, inconsiderate and heart-wrenching to say the least. But if I had no choice I would personally sew the photo of my family in the quilt when no one can see.

Upon thinking about what items I would take, I am thankful I am not in this position to only take three items, that I am safe, my family are safe in South Africa and it made me think where my family comes from, how far we have come and what we represent. My family represents not only love, forgiveness and many other qualities, both my parents come from two different worlds, as my mother comes from a dutch background and my father comes from an English background and although it may not seem that these two cultures are different, the two cultures are and yet my parents made it work to create all that I have described.

1

Leave a Reply

